Grilled Roasted Garlic Chicken and Fresh Orzo Salad

image

It hasn’t quite felt like summer to me until this week when I have been spending most all my free time in the pool and next to the grill. My daughter likes hot dogs, so needless to say I have grilled many of them, but tonight it was all about the chicken!

My inspiration for this dish came from Anne Burrell’s Garlic Chicken Casserole with Israeli Cous Cous. Its basically a variation of that using almost the exact same chicken recipe, but I paired it with my cold Orzo salad instead that’s zesty and simple to make, which I think is great for a summer night. I changed the increments of the chicken marinade a bit. Then I used rosemary instead of thyme and ground cumin instead of toasted cumin seeds as Anne Burrell used, only because that is what I had on hand.

Ingredients:

For chicken:
About 6 cloves roasted garlic
Juice and zest of 1 lemon
3/4 – 1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 large rosemary sprig, leaves removed and chopped
1/4 cup or more extra virgin olive oil
2 chicken breasts or 2 quarters (skin on and bone in)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

For Orzo salad:
1 cup Orzo
1 tomato
1 1/2 tablespoons red onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh chopped parsley
3 1/2 tablespoons crumbled feta cheese
Zest of 1 lemon
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup good extra virgin olive oil
1 clove garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

To roast garlic: place garlic in their skins on a baking sheet in a 375° oven for 20 minutes

To make marinade I added the peeled roasted garlic, cumin, rosemary, lemon juice, and lemon zest into the food processor and pulsed while adding the olive oil until well blended. Then I poured the marinade on top of the chicken in a zipper lock bag and let marinade for 3 hours. Before putting the chicken on grill I sprinkled it with salt and pepper and grilled it on medium-low heat, about 10 minutes each side. Cooking time might vary depending on what part of the chicken is being cooked, breasts cook for less time.

To make Orzo salad, I added the orzo to a pot of seasoned (liberally with salt) water and let boil for 9 minutes. Once done I rinsed with cold water and allowed it to cool completely. For the vinaigrette I mixed the lemon juice, zest, garlic, salt and pepper together; and then whisked in the olive oil. I add the remaining ingredients to the Orzo and then mix with vinaigrette. It needed a bit more salt so I adjusted the seasonings once done.

I really enjoyed this; it is a great summer dinner.

© Priscilla Sutton and HotBites.WordPress.com, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Priscilla Sutton and HotBites.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

